Monday, January 16, 2017

A Beetle Nicks Engelhart ~ Round 4

There are only two small beetles that attack Embla.  These roll a 10 and a 4, both missing.

There are also two small beetles that attack Engelhart.  The one on the left AGAIN rolls a 1 (feel better, O Cleric?), and due to its lack of intelligence I'll rule that it drifts into hex 1108.

The other beetle hits AC 7; Engelhart's character page says he has an AC of 10, so that should be a hit.  Can the cleric please confirm his armor class?

If it is a hit, the cleric takes 1 damage.

This leaves the map looking like this:

The party moves (see comments).

Following that movement, the map looks like this:

With corrections to experience won, the numbers stand as this:


Pandred said...

I'll swing at the closest beetle to me in 0807.

d20: 14 (+1Str, +1Puissance, +1Bless) Total 17
Damage: 4 (+3Str) Total 7

I'll call out: "Get in there boys!"

Doin' a good job holding the flank Engelhart.

Hopefully we can finish the butchery on this end quickly and relieve you.

Lothar Svensson said...

Lothar attacks the beetle nearest him in hex 0807.

Attack roll: 5

Bergthora moves up into 0707 and attacks the same beetle as Lothar in 0807.

Attack roll: (natural) 20! Follow up d20: 11 Damage: 2x2=4

Valda moves around Embla to hex 0506 And attacks the small beetle in 0606.

Attack roll: 2

Alexis Smolensk said...

Pandred kills the one; it had 1 hit point left. Lothar misses. Bergthora kills the beetle, however ~ and it, too, had 1 point left.

Valda will miss.

Pandred said...

Best rolls in ages, and everything has 1hp. Being a fighter is hard.

Alexis Smolensk said...

[Oh, damn. Willa did not take a round to load before attempting to hit the beetle in the last round. That means that she missed last round, because she had an additional -4 to hit. I should have caught that, but it got missed over the space of the weekend.

It means the beetle had a chance to hit Lothar, because it wouldn't have been stunned. I've rolled a die, getting a 10, meaning that it missed. It also means that it would have remained in 0707, so we have to count Bergthora's attack just now as coming from 0708.

I'm going to rule that the attack still fell as rolled. Thankfully, the beetle had 4 hit points ~ Willa had done 3 damage, leaving it with 1 ~ so now we can rule that Bergthora killed it.

My apologies for missing the arrow shot in the last round]

Alexis Smolensk said...

For the record, Willa LOADS this round.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I presumed Engelhart will collect his hammer now. Go ahead and just roll an attack die when you get the chance, Engelhart, if you mean to do it with your hammer.

Embla, same thing, just go ahead and roll to hit with your weapon.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Whoa, first point of damage from a hostile in the campaign!

Won't lie, feeling pretty useless faced with the fighters' damage outputs, hard to argue with those numbers, even the retainers have me beat.

But all in good spirits, hopefully I'll have pulled my weight if I've managed to settle down our dead come the time that Barrow Wight comes screaming out of the tomb.

(I'll roll when I get home).

Pandred said...

You're not lettin' me down, Engelhart.

We got aced the first go around, and we're coming back with a vengeance.

I definitely want to crack open this brick in the middle though, so the sooner these beetles raise up their pincers in surrender the better.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Okay, here goes: Move to 1008, pick up that dastardly hammer of mine, strike at the beetle in 1108.

Attack Roll: 13, +1 for Aggressiveness, +1 for Bless, +2 (Alexis?) for attacking from the rear.

Total result sums up to 17, damage die: 1.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Oh, and my AC is 7, I believe!

Leather plus Shield.

Embla Strand said...

Thanks, Alexis.

5+1+1=7. I miss.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Given the situation, with the non-intelligent beetle constantly rolling ones, I'd call that a +2 rear shot, as it scuttles away. A more intelligent creature would have stood its ground. In any case, the 15 would hit regardless.

It has 1 hit point, so 1 damage is enough. It's dead.

[just getting home from work. Give me a couple hours to soak in a tub, eat something, I'll get the next post up]

Alexis Smolensk said...

This post has been updated with changes in experience noted. The map showing the players' move is on the main post above.

The next post is up.