Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Punishment is Given ~ Round 4

As Pandred moves, so does the end creature, it's tendrils shifting their connections with its adjacent fellow, moving into 0409 to attack the fighter.  It swings, rolls a 10 and hits AC 8.  I believe you established yourself as AC 6 with shield, so that is a miss.

The other creature in 0509 turns and considers Fjall a moment, then attacks Pandred.  It rolls an 18.  She takes 6 damage from the blow.  If Pandred makes a dexterity check [roll a d20], she can avoid being slammed hard enough against the wall to take 1-2 damage; she will hit the wall, it is just a matter of how well she can remain balanced.  In either case, Pandred is definitely stunned.

The creature in 0610 will attack Engelhart.  It rolls a 14, hitting AC 4.  That's good enough to pay homage to the cleric.  Father Engelhart will take 8 damage, more than enough to stun him and throw him into Valda's hex.

It does not follow.

Here is the layout for the player's round:

Embla's move was missed in the last round.  Her move
is indicated above.  She is in 0709, and can act this round.

This will enable the rest of the party to act.  Please note, especially regarding Fjall, that these creatures do not seem to have a "back" or a "flank."  The writhing root seem able to defend themselves in every direction.

Petar can fire.  Willa can load.  She can move up to one hex if she loads.

Following the player's moves, the position is as follows:


Embla Strand said...

Willa moves to 1009 and aim at the creature in 0610.

Embla moves to 0609 and attacks the creature in 0509.

Petar will fire at the creature in 0610.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Go ahead and attack. We're going to try to just let the players attack when they feel secure that they're in the right place and juxtaposition to the enemy, Embla. Just pause when the situation seems odd or questionable.

Sorry again about missing your move.

Pandred said...

Dex check: 16


I think, assuming I'm not bludgeoned into oblivion, that next round will be focused on extricating myself.

I've got a salve if I can get out of this corner to apply it.

Lothar Svensson said...

Can Fjall grab Pandred and move her into hex 0511?

Bergthora and Lothar will attack the root creature in 0611 again.

Lothar's attack: 12+1(Bless)=13
d8: 7

Bergthora's attack: 19+1(Bless)=20
d6: 6

I am on fire today!

Embla Strand said...

Sounds good, Alexis.

Embla: 10+(1STR+1Bless) = 12, 4+1(Str)+1(Bless)=6 damage

Petar: 5+1(Bless)=6, 3+1(Bless) damage.

Dang it.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Embla: Bless does not enhance damage under these rules (though I am positive there was some iteration of dnd where it did, hence your - and mine - mistake).

Alexis Smolensk said...

Pandred, take 2 more damage from hitting the wall hard.

Fjall can, in fact, grab Pandred and drag her to 0511. 2 AP to reach into 0410, 1 AP to gather her back to 0510, 2 AP to move into 0511.

[I can assure the players that the original players handbook definitely did not give a bless bonus to damage!]

Alexis Smolensk said...

With Lothar's hit, the creature splits apart like kindling; at once, the wood stiffens and breaks. All animation ceases. This leaves a large stump that blocks 0611, but whatever was once alive in the hex no longer is.

At the same time, because Valda was stunned, I need to roll a morale check for her [almost forgot]. She rolls 2d6 against the 8 morale that she has; she has to equal this or do better: she rolls an 8! Not only does she stand her ground, but her morale drops permanently to 7, making it easier for her to make morale checks in the future.

Forgive me as I run Lothar's one follower for a moment. Bergthora has a higher dex than Valda, so she moves first. With Lothar knocking out the one creature, I'm going to have Bergthora move around him into 0710 ~ we'll assume she rolls her 19 in that hex, hitting 0610. Miraculously, this has the same effect as Lothar's hit ~ this is the one that Pandred had hit earlier ~ so it, too, dies.

Lothar, what would you like Valda to do?

Alexis Smolensk said...

Those attacks do miss, Embla.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Oh, I also wanted to add that Bergthora will call out, "Do you smell that?" [1 AP]

Valda [no move cost] will shout, "Yes!"

Lothar Svensson said...

Valda then moves into hex 0508 - which I believe will take all 5 AP, assuming she can move through Embla's hex.

Embla Strand said...

Does Valda benefit from my ability that raises morale for followers by 1 while they are within 20'?

Alexis Smolensk said...

Yes, Embla! And if she had blown the roll by one point, that would have been the crucial factor. Do not fail to bring that up the next time a roll has to be made.

Valda can definitely make that move, Lothar. She actually doesn't have to go through Embla's hex.

[I have to go perform an errand. I should be back in less than two hours]

Alexis Smolensk said...

Okay, the post above is updated with the player's move. I hope I haven't forgotten someone again. I've taken the liberty of moving Petar up after his shooting; it won't affect his loading his bow next round.

I'll get started on the next round now.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.