Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Valda Takes a Whack ~ Round 3

Begins with the creatures' movements.  The creature in 0611 turns and faces Lothar, swinging at Bergthora as it does.  Bergthora is missed by a 3, as the blow falls short of her shifting and dodging inside her hex (as everyone does when fighting ~ it is not a special ability]

The creature in 0510 adjusts to 0610, keeping the "hedge" of interlacing roots that has formed between the creatures.  It attacks Valda and hits with an 18.  She is just glanced, however, for 3 damage ~ still, it is enough to stun her and knock her into Engelhart's hex.

This leaves the last two creatures in 0508 and 0507 to thump on Pandred.  Luckily for her, however, the creatures roll a 7 and a 5.  Truly miraculous.

The final position of the creatures is, therefore:

The players can act.  Don't forget to move your followers.  Willa and Petar are willing to shoot their bows, but remember that a natural 2 will hit a party member.

The players having moved, here is the scene before the creature's return the attack:

I'm just going to forego putting up the x.p. from round to round, to save some time.  You've seen how it works; I'll put up the numbers soon.  But just to confirm: I think the only hits so far have been Pandred's 9, the creature's 3 against Valda and Lothar's group doing 13.  Oh, and there was a javelin for 6 damage.  Have I missed anyone?


Embla Strand said...

Willa will move up the side to 1110. Petar will aim at the creature and 611.

Embla will move to 609. [I'm coming, Pandred].

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I came all this way intending to break into a charging run, can I still do so?

Alexis Smolensk said...

You're asking, can you run straight for five hexes and then turn 60 degrees to the left and charge? I wrote rules for that.

So I'm afraid not. You have to move the distance AT the enemy, not sideways to the enemy.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I should also rush to point out: you don't have to move your whole move the previous round to run this run. The rules on the wiki say you have to expend 50% of your move; so Engelhart could have moved three hexes towards the creatures last round, then broke into a run this round.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Oh. And as I look at it, Engelhart also just had a 130 lb. woman thrown into him. That is bound to break any chance at a run.

Pandred said...

I'm swinging for the creature in 0509.

d20= 3 (+1Str,+1Bless) Total 5

d6= 1 (+3 Str) Total 4

I'll go ahead and shimmy my way into 0408.

That leaves me with 1 AP with which to regret my life choices.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

It was the issue with Valda that prompted my question actually, but I can see where my calculations have gone awry in any event (I thought we had one hex-face of turning capacity and it's actually much, much less).

At least something was learned, but I'm left with no way to reach Pandred this round.

I shuffle to replace Valda in 0710, drop the sling, draw my hammer and swing it at root-beast 0610 (rolled when at home).

Lothar Svensson said...

Fjall wouldn't have any qualms about moving into hex 0511 would he?

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Here goes now:

Attack Roll (d20): 9, +1 for Bless, +1 for my Agressiveness (Alexis?): total of 11.

Damage Roll (d6): 1.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Aggressiveness? I don't know what you mean.

It is a miss at any rate.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Its the feature on my char-sheet: +1 to hit against creatures below INT 5.


Alexis Smolensk said...

Ah. Well, yes, that's a bonus you have ~ but please refer to it as you did the second time; or refer to your character background when you recall it. You're the first character I've ever run that had that ability and I created it about three years ago, so . . . I often need a bit more reference to these obscure things.

[Forgive me, stepping out the door to work]

Alexis Smolensk said...

Petar loads. Fjall moves into 0511. I need attacks from him, from Bergthora and from Lothar. Then we can move on.

Lothar Svensson said...

Fjall's attack: 15+1(bless?)=16(?)
d6: 4

Bergthora's attack: 18+1(bless)=19
d6: 4

Lothar's attack: 17+1=18
d8: 5

Alexis Smolensk said...

Very nice! All three attacks hit. The sound of swords on wood is encouraging; the creature flinches and seems to shrink in its place, though it remains in the hex and is not beaten back. It is, however, stunned ~ and with one AP left, Fjall acts. 0511 is no longer a combat hex, as the creature can't threaten him, so he uses his last AP to move into 0510, to reach Pandred if something should happen to her. I've put an X's up where the party's attacks occurred.

Bergthora will remain next to Lothar, being more concerned with finishing off the root-creature.

I've updated the post above. I'll start on the next round.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.

Alexis Smolensk said...


Sorry, Embla. I did not account for your move. At all.

Okay, you've moved from 0912; you can't make it all the way to 0609, since you can't move through 0811 [there are two people in it when you start moving] and 0709 is a combat hex and you'd need one more penalty point to get into the next hex.

That means the creature MIGHT attack both you and Engelhart ~ see the next post. Rolling a die . . . nope, still attacks Engelhart. But I will update the picture in the next post to account for your movement.

I am sorry.