Thursday, June 29, 2017

Frog! ~ Round 1

The image shows the position of the party as a giant frog rises in hex 0511.  I have added a dotted line across the water to show where the cave ends and the ten foot high passage begins (see cross-section).

With the initiative, the frog attacks Embla.  It rolls a 14, hitting AC 4 . . . Embla feels a wet, sticky tongue slap against her mid-section, causing only 2 damage as it thuds into her; but it both sticks and grips, the flesh squeezing together around her waist.

Embla is too heavy, however, and though the tongue pulls her into the water of 0507, it snaps free from her body and springs back into the frog's mouth.

The water is three feet deep, like described.  Embla is not stunned.  Using the fight while immersed rules I wrote last week, Embla's adjusted encumbrance is adjusted by a 25% loss of weight (she's up to her waist in water):  here's the altered table for your movement when partially immersed:

The party can act; do you need another image indicating that Embla is in 0507?


Embla Strand said...

[Damn. Of all the times to not have my javelin.]

I stay where I am (for now) and call back "My javelin!". That leaves me with 3AP (-1 water, -1 speech).

Lothar Svensson said...

I ready my bow!

Fjall loads Pandred's crossbow.

Bergthora gets ready to move up after Pandred moves.

Lothar Svensson said...

Cross-posting with Embla, Bergthora gets Embla's javelin to hand it to Pandred or pass it to Embla.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I slide to 0306 and begin casting Dust Devil.

It seems like that thing is not too threatening from a distance, so I'd advise engaging it from here.

I'm not in any particular hurry to close in with a 500 lb. brute if I can help it.

Alexis Smolensk said...

As Fjall has just gotten down the slope, he has spent one round of three needed to load the bow.

For Lothar to fire next round, Pandred will need to move down the slope.

With the new balance rules, Pandred has a very good chance of throwing his axe from the slope without falling down (no minuses, but will have to make a dex check on this steep a slope). Right at the moment, with the height and distance, he is counted as 9 hexes from the frog (7 lateral, 2 vertical); that's medium range, -2 to hit; moving down the slope will not improve that, so he might want to throw and then move out of Lothar's way.

Can you tell me if you're on the shore of 0306 or in the water, Engelhart. You can cast the spell from either. One hex is permissible to cast the spell this round and discharge the next.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I move into the water, if you say it doesn't invalidate my casting.

I wish to obscure my profile from the beast, so standing waist-deep in water and behind the nearest protruding rock seems advisable.

Pandred said...

I'll step into 0505 and go for the throw.

d20: 4 (-2 range) Total 2

I'm gonna assume that if I can't even hit AC 10, that frog is safe from my wrath this turn.

I'll move to 0505 and give Lothar some room.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Engelhart, the water will obscure you up to the waist, you being only one inch shorter than Embla. The rock in front of you only emerges about a foot from the water, but it (and the water) will cover up to your torso and lower your armor class by 3 points.

Pandred, a little confusing, you said you entered 0505 twice. Could you please roll a d20?

Pandred said...

d20: 11

Sorry about that, I was a bit on the exhausted end at the time!

Alexis Smolensk said...

That manages your dexterity check, Pandred.

Now, I'm going to start the next post, in which the frog will attack. It is most likely that it will attack Embla, though the fact that Embla is too big to be pulled in will be a factor in random determination. Pandred is higher up and farther away, while Engelhart is partly hidden by the stone block. Because the frog only has an animal intelligence, it can't choose, so it has to be rolled.

Because there are factors for and against each member, I'm going to roll an even random chance for all three by the water. Lothar is too high and too far away. I'm sorry if there is an attack that ruins Engelhart's spell, but I have no control over that; the dice will decide.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Oh, since Pandred has time he hadn't used, I'm going to say before he moves and throws, he takes the javelin from Bergthora.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.