Saturday, February 3, 2018

Kennel Round 4 ~ Pandred's Beat-down

The beast means to go through Lothar's hex to reach the far wall, where the rubble is deepest.  If it gets over there, the footing could get difficult and require a penalty to hit the creature.

It bites at Lothar and, as Pandred will be on its left as it does so, it will swing a claw again at the fighter.

It rolls a 3 against Lothar, so that its way is barred.

[I see I need some rule about overbearing connected to incidental damage.  This thing is 1,100 lbs, if it wants to go though Lothar's hex, it shouldn't matter if it succeeds in overbearing or not.  BUT, since I haven't fixed a rule on that yet, we'll say it gets scared and draws back.  This thing is, however, sufficiently sized for me to start rolling incidental damage]

Against Pandred, it rolls a natural 20.  The second roll is a 7, for double damage.  Pandred is lucky it is the claw and not the bite, for as I said, the bite would be triple.

As it is, the claw does 10 damage, not quite a wound, dropping Pandred to -5 hp.  She's stunned.

Next, incidental damage.  There's a 50% chance that each person within a hex will take 1 damage, from a foot or an elbow or some such.  With rolls, Lothar and Engelhart each take a point.  No stun effects there.

Embla takes a point of damage from her wound.

The beast falls back against the wall in 0402, rather than going around Lothar.  Here's the picture:

Pandred, I will need you to roll a d20 to see if you drop unconscious after this hit.  Fjall is in his second round of loading the crossbow.  If someone said it was light or heavy, I missed it.  It matters, because if it is a light crossbow, he will be able to fire in round 5; if it is heavy, he won't fire until round 6.

About the rubble.  0403 will cost 1 AP to enter, as normal, but 0302 (hard to read the number) will need 3 AP to enter.  Attacking out of 0403 will be a -1 to hit penalty.  Attacking out of 0302 will be -2 to hit and -2 AC for the defender.

Bergthora gives an expression that shows she'll give Lothar 0502 if he wants it.  She is plainly a bit uncomfortable.


Following the character's actions, here's the position:

And the experience thus far:


Pandred said...

d20: 7

The major problem with a low AC: if it hits, it crits.


Alexis Smolensk said...

Well, since this thing has a THAC0 of 13 ... not so much.

Pandred is unconscious. Your effective wisdom is 5.5 with the negative penalty effects and you did not make that check.

[as to why I use wisdom and not constitution, the logic is this: your CON sustained your hit points, which are now gone, so your CON's effectiveness is also gone. If you're still going to be in the fight by this point, it requires your WILL to keep fighting ... and your willfulness is dependent on you wisdom. If you haven't got the wisdom to keep at it, you're ready to quit. Quitting here reads as 'unconscious']

Lothar Svensson said...

Lothar steps up into 0502 and attacks again.

Attack: 3. I think I'm going to retire that die.

Bergthora fades back to 0701 and sees about helping Embla with that wound. Does cutting a strip from a cloak work? It'd take some time, I'm sure but I think that's going to be the most helpful thing.

I believe the crossbow is a heavy one, but it was Pandred that bought it initially.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Attack roll: 9.

Damage roll: 1.

I'm... not really sure about all this. Trying to hit a 15+ _and_ a sizable damage roll is looking more and more like a fool's errand.

[Are you sure about Berthora, Lothar!? We need every swinging arm we can get!]

All rests on Embla, again.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Yeah, its a ridiculous 30% chance to roll a 15 or greater, which should happen, what, 2 in every 7 rolls? My god, those are impossible odds! And the party has only rolled 10 times now. What an unreasonable DM I am.

I think that Engelhart is right about Bergthora. She would probably throw a dagger; and Embla might have to do something similar, letting herself bleed a little more. She still has a javelin.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Nay, Alexis, I meant as regards myself... since I can still do some spell slinging, it might be time better spent. No clue as to the creature's "saves", so can't really compare.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I wouldn't hold back at this point. Pandred going down makes the situation dire.

Pandred said...

I swear to god. Just let Fjall take potshots with the (Heavy) crossbow and stay in formation.

Don't fight it in the rubble. Just don't do it. Use my handaxe as a throwing weapon if you must. Use my shield. Whatever it takes, but don't fight a big, powerful creature with 13 THAC0 to our 20 on uneven ground.

Embla Strand said...

My javelins are with my pack upstairs...

I step into 703 and pick up Pandred's handaxe. Do I have enough AP to throw it?

Alexis Smolensk said...

Pandred is 2 hexes away, you've got 4 AP, the handaxe is out in the open where you can grab it, so yes.

But if you're not proficient in it, Embla is -2 to hit with it. You had better roll very high.

Embla Strand said...

It beats dealing with the rubble.

That's an 18+1(STR)-2(Prof) = 17 to-hit. 7 damage.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Well, whaddaya know?

Seven damage stuns one of the beast's two attacks (need a third of its hit points to stifle both). I usually rule that the biggest attack is the one so stunned.

Bergthora, I'll rule, draws her dagger and does not throw it at this time.

That will finish the round. I'll get a new post up.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

[Embla's post got eaten, so we don't really know what she rolled - presumably 17+ tagged with a 7 damage result].

Embla Strand said...

Exactly that, Engelhart. A 17 to-hit with 7 damage.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The post up above is updated with experience and position.

Alexis Smolensk said...

In the spam again. I'll have to stay on top of that.

The next post is up.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Damn. Retcon time.

What die did you roll for that axe, Embla?

A hand axe only does 1 to 6; and you don't get strength bonuses. So a "7" damage is impossible. Should have realized: I was just so damn happy it did damage, I missed that detail.

I'm ruling the axe did six damage, which retains the stun, without making this extraordinarily complicated. I'll fix the x.p. table accordingly.