Thursday, February 9, 2017

Pandred is Attacked! ~ Round 1

The four creatures all act with radical speed, together rushing against Pandred.  Only two are able to get close enough to attack, but they do so with limbs flailing.  Meanwhile, between them, the rootish twigs quickly form a fence that runs from 0508 to 0611.

The two that can attack roll a 6 and a 7 ~ so Pandred is miraculously unharmed.

The rest of the party can now move.  Please let me know who is coming down the stairs behind Engelhart, once the stairs are clear, and IN ORDER.  Minimalize confusion, please.

I know it looks as though I have intentionally organized the move to trap Pandred, but I will now compensate for that by giving you TWO movement turns, with the exception of Pandred, who can have just ONE.

Go ahead and do your best.


Pandred said...

Hahahahaaa! As if merely four opponents are enough to face me!

I'll swing for the creature in 0510. If I CAN occupy the half-hex of 0411, I'd like to, with my remaining 1 AP used to make sure that my facing still faces away from the wall, so that I can use my shield against all attackers.

To-Hit: d20=12 (+1 Bless,+1Strength) Total 14

Damage: d6=6 (+3 Strength) Total 9

Alexis Smolensk said...

I'll have to rule that fighting out of half a hex is similar to being in a hex with another person; this will make you +2 to hit, but won't change your attacks.

[have to add that rule to the wiki]

Given that knowledge, I'll let you keep your present hex if you want, or change your move in keeping with the 3 AP you have to spend above your attack.

The attack hits and stuns the creature in 0510; however, because of the interweaving between your opponents, it does not give ground. It will lose an attack.

Pandred said...

I'll stay put then, thank you.

Embla Strand said...

[Alexis, would it be possible to mark the wall on the map?]

If I put the lantern in 914, could I place it to provide sufficient illumination that everyone can see/fight near where Pandred is?

Alexis Smolensk said...

[right now, everything you see that is black is wall]

Please consider the whole room you can reach to be illuminated.

Lothar Svensson said...

I'll have Bergthora, Valda, and then Fjall follow Engelhart down, in that order (assuming they make their morale checks, of course).

Bergthora has the second lantern just now, as a reminder.

Lothar Svensson said...

I'll wait for Embla to move before declaring an action for myself.

Alexis Smolensk said...

{Sorry, all. I'm just too deep in the writing of my book just now, I don't want to put it down. I will take the next step. I will be available tomorrow, so don't disappear]

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I'm waiting on Embla as well (and Lothar after that).

Alexis Smolensk said...

Okay, I am waiting for Embla as well. The follower's movement is noted. After the beetle combat, they are all comfortable with moving in; but if any are stunned in combat, they will have to make a morale check at that time.

Pandred said...

Well, whatever happens, just get here quickly!

Four may not be enough to face me, but I'd like to keep my hp high enough to face the twelve in the next room who WILL be enough.

Embla Strand said...

[I am terribly sorry. School stuff came up. I'm here, now.]

I advance to 0813 [3AP] and throw my javelin at the creature in 0508. [2AP]

Alexis, how many AP to safely put the lantern down?

Lothar Svensson said...

Then I'll move 0816, 0815, 0814, 0713, 0712. Which is all of my move.

Alexis Smolensk said...

That'll cost you 1 AP, Embla.

Roll the javelin.

Embla Strand said...

That's a 19 on the die (for 21 total, with Bless), and 3 +1+1+1 = 6 damage.

Alexis Smolensk said...

It hits and sticks. It does not seem to have stunned.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I'll move to 0816 (3 AP? Less?) and discharge the sling at the critter in 0510.

I've roll a 2 on the attack, so a clear miss.

Pandred said...

It was a miss, so it doesn't matter much, but let's make sure we're focusing on landing as many stuns as possible on as many targets.

Current maths say AC 6 with between 25 and 36hp. I really, really don't want to get mashed into paste against the wall if these guys hit hard.

Of course, that'd be entirely my fault for getting in so deep to begin with, but I've never claimed to be anything but overly impetuous!

Alexis Smolensk said...

The bad news is that Engelhart doesn't miss.

If you will examine my critical hits & fumbles page, you will find a note under "friendly fire."

Quote, "If a character is hurling or firing a missile weapon, then a natural 2 on the attack die has a chance of indicating that a friendly fire incident has occurred and that the attacking character has hit an associate of the attacker."

There are three potential targets in front of Engelhart: Pandred, Lothar and Embla. Rolling randomly, I find that Engelhart has hit Pandred.

Please roll damage, Engelhart.

Alexis Smolensk said...

For future reference, Engelhart, you should be remembering to tell me what you loaded into the sling before firing. Because there are rules about stones and bullets, what you load is important to say before firing. Or did you? Hell, I don't remember seeing it, I can only find the statement where you said you had sling and shield ready.

I usually let it slide for a few times before introducing measures [I've had to before, as this seems to be something most players have trouble remembering ~ and I mean "most" . . . about 9 in 10, I'd say].

Alexis Smolensk said...

As Engelhart stops in 0816 (I'll rule 3 AP for climbing down the stairs with the sling spinning ~ it would normally be 2), Bergthora and Valda will move through his hex into 0715 and 0815, respectively. Fjall is on the stairs, with Wanda behind him; I haven't got a figure for Fjall yet, so let's just say he's there (the next image won't show the stairs).

Engelhart Askjellson said...


It was a natural 2, did not even get to the modifiers, but I find it odd that the "2" result is arguably worse than the "1" result.

I'm not quite sure what to make of it, never given friendly fire much thought but it is an interesting way to treat it.

I rolled a 4 in d4, terribly sorry, Pandred.

Pandred said...

Well dammit. I'm stunned.

Alexis Smolensk said...

LOL. It is exactly the same chance to roll a natural 2 as it is to roll a natural 1, so I don't see that it makes a difference which one is "arguably worse."

Pandred, being stunned you are knocked into hex 0409.

I will update the map now.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.