Thursday, December 22, 2016

Gudbrand Dies ~ Round 10


At this point, the beetle atop Gudbrand, along with two other beetles, tear into Gudbrand's body, causing enough damage to kill him and bloody up the corpse.

Most of the remaining beetles turn on Aleksandra, who is isolated from the others, primarily because Engelhart chose not to fill the gap with Lothar.  The living assassin is faced from the front by beetles in 0909, 1009 and 1109, with a beetle on her in 1110.  The first to attack is 1109, which hits with a 17, causing 6 damage.  Aleksandra reels into 0910, reducing her to 4 hp and stunning her.

The beetle in 0909 attacks next, turning and rolling a 11, which she barely sidesteps, taking no damage.  The beetle in 1009 rushes into 1010 and rolls a 17, so that Aleksandra is hit again, this time for a terrible 8 damage, tossing her back into the arms of Rowan.  There she must make a wisdom check, as she has been reduced to -4 hp (with her wisdom at 60%).

The fourth beetle, that was on Aleksandra's flank, scurries forward into 0910 and attacks from there, gaining a +2 to hit being that Aleksandra and Rowan are now both in a hex together.  This last beetle rolls a modified 10, thankfully missing both characters.

While the assassin is getting banged around, Lothar is attacked by a single beetle, from his right front, in 0909.  It rolls a 7, missing.

The beetle in 0709 attacks Engelhart, rolling a 3.  This also misses.

Here is how things are at the end of the beetle's round:


Engelhart, Lothar and Rowan can all take an action.  Note that Rowan can't fight out of the hex containing Aleksandra unless she falls unconscious; if she does remain conscious, she will be unable to remain prone while a beetle is still potentially chewing her legs off ~ meaning that Engelhart will have to move or Lothar will have to make a space.  Technically, Rowan can move first of the three, but Rowan can choose to wait to see what happens with the other two.

Also, if Rowan pushes Aleksandra (conscious) into the hexes with Lothar and Engelhart, costing 1 AP, they won't be able to move her again without it costing 2 AP (not going to play games where she can be handed off perpetually without additional penalties. The cost of the extra AP will be due to the others taking an AP to receive her before pushing her into the next hex over.

Here is the x.p., updated:


Following the party's move, here is the position:


24 comments:

Aleksandra Ivanovna said...

Ouch. Sorry, Gudbrand.

I rolled a nat 1.

Alexis Smolensk said...

That is good timing, Aleksandra. Your wisdom is 6 at the moment; having rolled a 6 or less, you're still conscious. Your dexterity, by the way, is now 10.2, so you don't have a bonus for your AC; this makes your AC in future only 9.

Lothar Svensson said...

I attempt to overheat the beetle in 0709 to clear a path to the rope.

Attack: 9-2=7
Current total weight: 126.97

Is unarmed damage the only option? I ask because the last time I did this there was some assumption about the die I used to roll the damage.

Lothar Svensson said...

Overbear, not overheat...

If only we could overheat these beetles

Alexis Smolensk said...

You get the 3x bonus, or +7 to hit, Lothar, because there's nothing behind 0709. That makes a 14 when you need to hit AC 8, so success. The beetle is pushed back to 0609.

Let me correct myself while I read my own damn rule.

Yes, overbearing damage is pushing, nothing more. It isn't swinging or hacking with a weapon. I want it to be a last resort, not a regular and constant choice. So 1d4 minus 3 + strength bonus is standard. That does mean that Lothar can't do any damage at this time, but at least it does clear that path.

Lothar Svensson said...

That's what I was going for. Next I'll move to hex 0708 and shout, "Let's get out of here!"

Rowan said...

I know I can't attack period with Aleksandra in my hex, but what kind of penalties, if any, would I take from trying to throw my club at the beetle now in 0609?

Additionally, do I need to spend AP aiming to throw it, or is it merely the two AP for attacking?

I'm hoping to free Engelhart and Lothar's path to the exit. At 0hp, I'm fairly well done for.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Provided you don't try to do it with Aleksandra in your hex, you can throw your club as you would attack in melee. It counts as 2 AP; so long as you're HURLING a weapon already in your hand, or it weighs less than 5 lb., there isn't any extra AP to draw and throw. In other words, you can throw the club in your hand for 2 AP; you can draw a club from your belt and throw it at 2 AP. On the whole, only FIRED weapons take a round to load.

If your distance from the beetle is 2 hexes, you're +1 to hit for point blank. If the distance is 3-5 hexes, there is no adjustment on the die. If you were throwing at something greater than 5 hexes, there would be penalties. All thrown or fired objects have different ranges; you can find them all on this page.

Lothar is already standing in arm's reach of the twine-rope to the surface.

Rowan said...

If Lothar pushed the beetle into 0609, leaving him in 0709, are you saying he can begin climbing next round from his current hex, or that he'll be able to enter one of the three hexes containing the dashed circle and then begin climbing the rope next round?

Either way, I just wanted to be certain that neither Engelhart nor Lothar being in the path between myself and the beetle in 0609 would provide any penalties to my throwing, barring the dangers of rolling a natural 2.

Rowan said...

Oh I'm sorry, I misread. Lothar is already in that circle, ignore the first half of my comment.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Yes, Lothar expended 2 AP and his one attack getting into 0709, then 2 AP moving out of that combat hex into 0708. He then used his last AP to shout at you guys. He's counting good.

As things stand now, yes, he can begin to climb next round. It isn't easy to climb twine; he'll have to make a strength check, but he can get five feet off the ground on his own in round 11, so long as he isn't stunned. He can climb to 7.5 feet if someone enters his hex next round and gives him a shove upwards, but he'll still have to make a strength check to hold on.

Regarding hurling, you can pretty much throw past one line of defenders without trouble. If someone were in 0709, 0710 and 0810, there would be a shadow. I'll create a post here in a few minutes that will show what that shadow would look like.

Alexis Smolensk said...

There. You can see it on the wiki, on the Line-of-Sight page I've just created (which will need more attention, eventually).

Rowan said...

Ugh. I want to make that throw so badly. But if we're going to have to go up one at a time anyway, I'd do better to hold off.

I step into 0810 and swing at the nearest beetle in 0809. 2AP for the move, 2 more for the swing.

To-Hit: 13

Damage: 5

Whichever of my noble companions has the wherewithal to calculate the load-bearing capacity of our rope will be this battle's greatest hero.

Aleksandra Ivanovna said...

I'd trust it with no more than 250lbs.

Rowan said...

Good luck, comrades! I think I'll be bearing the brunt of the beetles bites this next round, hopefully that gives you guys the opening you need!

Alexis Smolensk said...

Rowan,

Because the beetle you chose to attack is in a hex with three beetles in it, one more than it can attack out of, according to discussions we've already had, you get +2 to hit. That gives you a modified 15 to hit, which DOES.

The beetle you attack DIES.

Unfortunately, because you've decided to attack the group on the body, a group bothering no one, you've upset the two beetles that survive, so that now I have to roll for them to see if they break free off the corpse of Gudbrand and have them start attacking the party again.

Call me puzzled.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

An opening! Good Lothar, I'm going to take you up on your offer.

I'll be straight with you, I had intended to sidestep into 0610 and attack the beetle, I had even already rolled the die (a natural 1, no less), but since Lothar has paved an alternative, I'll go ahead and fold my now invalid move into something altogether more productive.

So, 5 AP to move 0610, 0509, 0508, 0507 and 0506, ending the turn facing 0507.

"Lord, deliver us from this!", thinks Engelhart as he pushes past.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Sorry Engelhart,

The beetle in 0609 is NOT stunned. It is merely backed up from 0709. This means that 0610, 0509 and 0508 are all combat hexes; it would take 8 AP to make the move you've indicated.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I won't count the 1 you say you rolled (in future, please restrain from giving such details until after your move has been fixed) if you want to attack instead.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Alexis, I hope you'll appreciate that what you're saying does not correlate to what you previously ruled in a similar situation, in the third combat round.

The additional commentary about dice rolling was merely to underline that luck is truly not on my side: third natural 1 in the combat.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I do appreciate it, Engelhart. You are right. You are keeping with my earlier ruling and you are absolutely correct to hold to me to account for it. I withdraw my objection. You may move as you first declared.

I am at odds with myself with regards to that rule. As I said, the overbearing rules are new and untested, and now I find myself unsure whether or not a successful overbear should count as a removal of the combat hex rule. Since this is how we did it in the 3rd round, we will continue to do it that way for the remainder of this fight, at least. If I change it, I will certainly make a definite ruling of it on the wiki.

Please understand that in playtesting, things get confusing. I have your character recorded as being at hex 0506, facing 0507.

Alexis Smolensk said...

With Engelhart's move, that's everyone for the 10th round. I'm up for work in the morning, tomorrow is the 23rd. I'll be able to get the new maps and such made for tomorrow evening if I don't get distracted or I'm not too tired.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I have posted an update of the party's latest movement. Working on the next post.

Alexis Smolensk said...

The next post is up.

[Tomorrow is Christmas Eve; I am sure we will all take our time now].