Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Two Left ~ Round 3

There are two beetles left, after Gudbrand (with a pinch-hitter) kills one.  The remaining two split up, one moving towards Lothar and the other attacking Aleksandra:

Both beetles roll an 11 to hit.  This is sufficient to MISS both characters.

I don't need another map, then.  Engelhart, you can jump in as you please ~ remember you don't have a weapon drawn yet and a heavy weapon takes time.  Lothar and Aleksandra, you're free to act.  And Gudbrand, you can do what you would like ~ I won't impose a cut off until around 5 or 6 tomorrow, your time.  But I will roll for you again if necessary.  And please, please, please, take note that it isn't good enough to rush; you may be wrong in your assumptions about the system.  It is natural that, the system being new, there will be time needed to adjust to it.

Also, Rowan, if you are climbing down, you won't appear on the map this round; if you're jumping, you should tell me which of three hexes surrounding the entrance circle you're jumping into, then roll a d20.


Embla Strand said...

I swing my bo stick at the beetle engaged with me. That's 12-2=10 to hit and 3 damage.

Pandred said...

Sod it, I'll jump. Worst case scenario I take a hit and gain some experience from it.

I don't know if this will make a difference or impede the turn in some way, but I'll first lower myself into the hole from our beam, dangling down my full 5'6" and -then- dropping into Hex 0708.

If this would leave me with any of my 4 AP remaining, I'll draw my club.

D20: 8

Lothar Svensson said...

I attempt to overbear the beetle standing on top of my quarterstaff so I can pick it up. If I'm understanding the overbearing rules, it will be 4 AP to do this - 2 to move into the beetle's hex and 2 for the "attack portion" leaving me with 1 to drop my bow and scoop up my staff.

Attack roll: 10 -2 for sick, total of 8 not counting weight difference

Damage roll: 1

Lothar Svensson said...

Current weight including equipment: 130.78 lbs

I hope those beetles weigh less than 44 lbs each!

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I'll do this one no-frills:

I shout out: "Lothar, wait!";

I then draw my hammer, move to 0808 and attack the beetle at 0908, hopefully before Lothar's overbearing attempt.

I don't know how much conditionality or adaptability is permitted through shouted communication, though I'm willing to try.

[I'll input the rolls once I get home, I detest automated rolls]

Maxwell Joslyn said...

5 AP: walk 1010, 0910, 0810, 0709, 0609.

(Now that Engelhart is down here and Rowan will soon be, on my next turn I start climbing the twine to get myself off-screen.)

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Attack Roll: 11, modified by +1 for my agressiveness against low-int creatures to a 12.

Damage Roll: 6.

Alexis Smolensk said...

[OOC: I'm prepping for my interview today so I'll post the next round when I get back. It isn't very far from home, I should be good to sort things out by 6:30 EST/11:30 Lisbon. You didn't say if you liked the figure, Engelhart].

Engelhart's 12 misses. Rowan's dex check succeeds, he takes no damage but that's his round (he hasn't got his spear or club in hand right now). Aleksandra's 10 misses.

Lothar seems on top of the overbearing rules. He's right, it takes 4 AP to overbear as he plans. His weight of 130 is more than three times that of the beetle, so he gets +7 to hit. That's a 17, which is enough to hit! I take it he rolled a d4 for overbearing damage, which results in a 1.

He did not consider that he's clearly still holding his bow. This creates a quandary. He's either chosen to use his bow as a weapon (in which case, as the bow is flimsy for use as a club, I will need him to roll a d4 to see if it breaks), or he has chosen to use his fist/hands (in which case, he is technically -3 to his damage, according to pummelling rules).

Which is it, Lothar? Use the bow, do damage, possibly break the weapon, definitely cause 1 damage ~ or use your fists and guarantee that you do no damage?

In any case, the beetle is at least pushed back into 1008 and yes, you have 1 AP left to pick up your quarterstaff.

Your choice?

Lothar Svensson said...

I don't want to risk breaking the bow (especially with my luck with the dice recently), so I'll take the -3 to punch/kick the beetle back. Then I drop the bow and pick up my quarterstaff.

Alexis Smolensk said...

I made a mistake there, Engelhart.

Lothar's dexterity is 14; Engelhart's is 12. Lothar therefore moves first in combat. This puts you in 0808, having used 1 AP, with an unknown number of AP left. Did you tell me how many AP you have? If so, I've missed it or forgotten it.

Lothar is now in 0908, in front of you. You can move THROUGH Lothar's hex, into 1009, and attack the beetle from there, if you have 5 total AP. You can also climb into 0907, using 2 more AP to climb onto the matted sarcophagus, but your hammer is too short to attack from up there at a creature only 18 inches from the ground. You could throw your hammer from up there, or from 0808, or any other hex you could move to.

Let me know what you decide ~ the previous d20 roll is discounted, as it never happened. So if you attack from a different position, roll the d20 again.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Difficult decisions, Lothar.

Lothar Svensson said...

I figure I can stand to take a hit or two, and I've got next round to attack if Engelhart doesn't kill it.

Difficult Decisions could be the name of the game...

Embla Strand said...

OOC: I hope you are successful today, Alexis!

Alexis Smolensk said...

[OOC: I'm here, I'm here; I'm late, but it's the govt, nothing goes fast; I'll get the new post up forthwith]

Alexis Smolensk said...

Oops, I still have to wait for Engelhart. He still has 4 AP left and hasn't technically attacked yet.

Meanwhile, I'll point out that Aleksandra has 3 AP left, since she attacked but that only takes 2 AP.

Alexis Smolensk said...

Engelhart is in Lisbon; it will be midnight there in about 11 minutes. If he doesn't answer, I'll move on this round without him.

I do recognize this is going to be trouble for some; but I have faith that they'll simply figure out a way to work around it, trying this or that, until they adjust.

Embla Strand said...

If I can attack the beetle again, I will do so: with a 2-2=0 to hit and 3 damage...

Oof. Probably should not have tried that.

If not, then I'll hold my ground - I can withstand another assault and I am not blocking anyone.

Alexis Smolensk said...

's alright, Aleksandra.

Your character still only gets 1 attack per round, no matter how many AP you have. Just like in every other D&D game.

Okay, then. We'll leave you where you are.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

I've a full complement of 5 AP. Can I climb the tombstone?

Engelhart Askjellson said...

(Meaning that I'll have 3 AP once I've moved next to the tombstone and drawn my hammer).

Alexis Smolensk said...

Actually, you'll have only 1. Climbing to the tomb hex will take 2 AP, the hammer 1 and your initial move from 0707 to 0808 another 1, for a total of four.

I've put up the next post but I will update your position to atop the tomb at 0907.

Engelhart Askjellson said...

Exactly. Standing next to the tombstone I have 3, what remained in doubt was how many it would take to clamber atop it (2).

I must say I totally glossed over your most relevant post in the hurry to get in before the cut-off hour.

Things I learned this round:
- Dexterity determines precedence in combat, not the order of posting;
- One can move without penalty through a friendly hex (it ceasing to count as a combat hex due to the overbearing attempt?).

Alexis Smolensk said...

Ah, I get you now Engelhart.

Is it a melee [not 'combat'] hex after an overbearing attempt?

Yes and no. I hadn't honestly considered that, just went with my gut feeling without realizing I'd made a ruling on it until you asked, Engelhart. I feel that yes, in the same round the overbearing attempt occurred, the hex is not a melee hex ~ unless some other creature makes it so.

However, once the beetle is active again (it's turn), then adjacent hexes don't count as melee hexes.

So many possibilities ~ I'm still hammering out the system. However, the overbearing rules are new and Lothar's use of it just now is OFFICIALLY the first time ever.